From the beginning, Chronos Vocal Ensemble has championed Canadian music and supported the creation of new works through premieres, recordings, and commissions.

Composition competition

Winners in our annual competition have included:

2017 Nicholas Ryan Kelly – Little Bells

2018 Paul Aitken – Au Clair de la Lune

2019 Stuart Beatch – Your Stars to Hold 

2020 Leonard Enns – A Little More Time 

2021 Edward Enman – All the love that lies beneath

2022 Carmine Lappano – Arise, Arise


Chronos has commissioned a number of Canadian composers for new works (follow links for available recordings):

2015 Trent Worthington – Rimini 1944: To Gain the Crest

2017 Jeff Enns – Cantate Domino

2018 Alex Eddington – Picking Wild Berries

2019 Kristopher Fulton – I’ll Drown My Book

2020 Matthew Emery – Breathe, and I Breathe

2020 Katerina Gimon – Spring Rain

2021 Christine Donkin – Sorrow Into Song (consortium commission)

2021 Nicholas Ryan Kelly – You Speak Violets

2021 Marie-Claire Saindon – Deux/Two Solitudes

2021 Andrew Balfour – Gaze Upon the Trees

2022 Andrew Balfour – Witaskiwin (for Notinikew)

2023 Nicholas Ryan Kelly – Zoo Nocturnes 

Additional Premieres

World premieres except where noted. Links may be to performances by other choirs.

2015 Guillaume Boulay – Voix du vent (Alberta premiere)

2018 Stuart Beatch – I Loved You First

2018 Nicholas Ryan Kelly – A Flame in the Embers

2018 Tawnie Olson – Spring and Fall: To a Young Child (Canadian premiere)

2018 Zachary Wadsworth – Three Lacquer Prints (Canadian premiere)

2018 Peter Togni – The Eighth of September

2018 Jocelyn Morlock – One Black Spike (Alberta Premiere)

2019 Nicholas Piper – The Delight of Paradise (Alberta Premiere)

2019 Jonathan Dove – The Passing of the Year, pianos/percussion edition (Alberta Premiere)

2020 Hussein Janmohamed – Sun On Water (USA premiere)

2020 Jeff Enns – i carry your heart (USA premiere)

2020 Robin King – Exultate Deo (USA premiere)

2022 Karen Thomas – Alchemy (Canadian premiere)

2022 Dorothy Chang – Hear My Prayer (After Purcell) (Alberta premiere)

2022 Stuart Beatch – The Letter (Alberta premiere)

2022 Andrew Balfour – Anthem for a doomed youth (Edmonton premiere)

2023 Stuart Beatch – Psalm 100 (Alberta premiere)

2023 James MacMillan – Who Shall Separate Us (Edmonton premiere)

2023 David Dykstra – Love’s Not Lost

2023 Stuart Beatch – All Our Love, Always

Our four albums feature first recordings of dozens of Canadian compositions.

Resolve Covers


Featuring music of eight Canadian composers, including six first recordings.

FRESH: New Music From Canada

New unaccompanied music by Canadian composers. A first commercial recording of all included works.

The Simplest Way

Featuring the music of Trent Worthington, recorded Spring 2016. Chronos has performed excerpts at Podium and ACDA conferences.

Presenting Chronos Vocal Ensemble

Sacred a cappella music. Live takes from these recording sessions won Chronos the 2015 Healey Willan Prize.

Support New Music

We are always looking for support for new music projects, whether to continue operating our competition, commissioning new works, premiering new works or bringing composers to the city to work with the choir and attend premieres.

Support Us

Want to sing?

Chronos Vocal Ensemble is always seeking additional singers with a high level of musicianship, strong individual vocal technique and versatility, and a desire to be challenged in an ensemble environment.